一場關於有史以來最偉大故事的免費戶外音樂慶典!

This special Mesa tradition returns in the spring of 2023. The beautiful Easter message remains the same: He lives!

2023 Audition Information

Auditions for cast members in the Mesa Easter Pageant: Jesus the Christ will be done online again this year.  Applications and video submissions will be accepted from September 1 to October 1.  Please note: There will be no extension to this deadline. Please click below for the online audition form:

2023 Pageant Information

無需門票或預訂。

早點來,坐在提供的 9,500 多把椅子上。還鼓勵與會者在表演的第一周參加,以避免接近復活節週末的人群。每晚的表演從晚上 8 點開始

室外區域位於梅薩市中心 101 S. LeSueur 梅薩亞利桑那神廟的北草坪上。

鼓勵與會者使用 Valley Metro Light Rail 輕軌,該輕軌在 Mesa Drive/Main Street 停靠,距離會場僅有很短的步行路程。

NOTE: We look forward to welcoming audiences to the Mesa Easter Pageant, “Jesus the Christ,” in the spring of 2023. We note that a Spanish-language version of the pageant will not be presented next year. However, 400 headsets will be available at each performance to provide Spanish translation.

在社交媒體上關注活動:#mesaeasterpageant #mesaeasterpageant2022 #greateststory

媒體:要安排面試,請發送電子郵件至 Jill Adair
[email protected]

2023 Pageant Dates:

每天晚上 8 點到 9 點 15 分

March 29-April 1

英語、美國手語、西班牙語耳機

April 4-8

英語、西班牙語耳機

在梅薩神廟慶祝復活節!作為複活節活動的一部分,您可以親自前來參觀,並在梅薩神廟 (Mesa Temple) 的場地上欣賞美麗的春天花朵。

常見問題解答

什麼時候?

March 29-April 1, 4-8, 2023

我可以早點來嗎?

是的,歡迎您早點來並確保座位。

我可以參加彩排嗎?

The dress rehearsal (date to be announced later) is open to the public. Spectators at the dress rehearsal should expect pauses in the performance and distractions from support operations (such as lighting, sound tests, and staff.) The entire pageant may not be rehearsed in full sequence and start time(s) will vary significantly.

是否會通過耳機提供一些西班牙語翻譯?哪幾個晚上?有多少可用?

是的,每晚大約有 400 套耳機可用,並且整晚都提供西班牙語翻譯。

會有地方讓我們帶上自己的毯子坐在草地上嗎?

草地上的毯子座位非常有限,但離舞台很遠。

有殘疾人座位嗎?

中間的混凝土過道允許一些輪椅位於現有座位排的旁邊。這些將以先到先得的方式提供。

我們可以在寺廟場地吃東西嗎?

是的,但我們要求客人尊重寺廟場地,不要留下垃圾或
他們身後的碎片。選美比賽場地周圍的不同位置將提供垃圾箱。

我還能為演員試鏡嗎?

Auditions for cast members in the Mesa Easter Pageant: Jesus the Christ will be done online again this year.  Applications and video submissions will be accepted from September 1 to October 1.  Please note: There will be no extension to this deadline. Please click the link above for the online audition form.

在選美的幾週內,聖殿是否開放供捐贈會議使用?

是的,但是在選美期間,聖殿會提前關閉。具體時間請查看預約網站。

它什麼時候開始的?

每天晚上八點。表演持續約75分鐘。

它在哪裡呈現?

在 Mesa Arizona Temple 的北草坪上,Mesa 市中心的 101 S. LeSueur。

有西班牙之夜嗎?

A Spanish-language version of the pageant will not be presented in 2023. However, 400 headsets will be available at each performance to provide Spanish translation.

我需要門票/預訂嗎?

不,不需要門票/預訂,但我們建議您早點來確保 9,500 個可用座位中的一個。另外,請注意,通常第一周比第二周有更多可用座位。

有殘疾人停車位嗎?

是的。位於該地段東南部的聖殿南停車場將為殘疾人士提供停車位。

參加選美比賽的時間通常不那麼忙,例如彩排或周中?

The dress rehearsal is open to the public. Spectators at the dress rehearsal should expect pauses in the performance and distractions from support operations (such as lighting, sound tests, and staff.) The entire pageant may not be rehearsed in full sequence and start time(s) will vary significantly.

在選美比賽的預定晚上,傳統上,第一周的可用座位比第二週多。週二、週三和周四晚上的表演通常不那麼擁擠。星期三經常有很多教會青年團體參加。

我走路和爬樓梯都有困難(我拄著拐杖走動)。會有座位區來容納有這種限制的人嗎?

坡道底部附近有座位,但沒有預留座位。

有寺廟附近的酒店信息嗎?

我們不認可任何特定的酒店,但在寺廟的步行距離內有幾個住宿選擇。

美國手語 (ASL) 將提供哪些夜晚?

Generally during the first week of the pageant.

我應該在哪裡停車?

停車位將在 Mesa Drive 和 Main Street 的東北角,Mesa Temple 遊客中心以北的 City's Park and Ride 停車場提供。我們還強烈鼓勵乘坐 Valley Metro 的輕軌系統前往選美大賽。輕軌公園和乘車點位於吉爾伯特和美因、多布森和美因以及輕軌沿線的其他位置。輕軌站位於梅薩神廟場地的西邊,靠近主街和梅薩大道的拐角處。最後,在寺廟附近的地面街道上可以停車,但我們請客人尊重“禁止停車”標誌和住宅車道。

我可以節省座位嗎?

如果他們想要一個好座位,我們要求所有參加的人早點來。我們問
不為尚未出席的人預留座位。不鼓勵一個人通過在椅子上放置毯子等物品來節省多個座位的做法。

有嬰兒車停車場嗎?

是的,在西南角和東南角。

會提供洗手間嗎?

是的。便攜式洗手間將位於寺廟場地的西側,靠近遊客中心。遊客中心內只提供殘疾人洗手間。

有輪椅停車場嗎?

是的。位於該地段東南部的聖殿南停車場將為殘疾人士提供停車位。

寺廟附近有Valley Metro輕軌站嗎?

是的,輕軌站位於梅薩神廟場地的西邊,靠近主街和梅薩大道的拐角處。鼓勵使用輕軌來參加選美比賽。

參加選美比賽的老年人是否有後勤提示 - 例如附近的停車場或班車,幾個小時前無需“蹲”就座的方法等?

梅薩的公共交通選擇對老年人友好,尤其是輕軌。沒有預留座位。

區域地圖

梅薩復活節選美的歷史

八十年來,復活節期間,人們在梅薩市中心的梅薩亞利桑那神廟舉行聚會。

許多人作為演員和工作人員聚集在一起,投入無數的志願時間在戶外舞台上分享耶穌基督的生平。還有更多人聚集作為聽眾,見證和感受救主寬恕、希望與和平的有力信息。

梅薩復活節盛會——現在被公認為世界上最大的年度戶外復活節盛會——在復活節前兩週吸引了成千上萬的人。

耶穌基督

《耶穌基督》不是一部以被釘十字架為主題的激情劇,而是由衷地慶祝救主的生平和復活,邀請所有人歸向他,分享他的福音“好消息” .

與 1938 年作為日出服務的卑微開始相比,這是一個非常不同的製作。在那個複活節早晨,梅薩馬里科帕股份公司互助協會的年輕男女在梅薩舉辦了全州大會,這個節日週末的高潮是寺廟內的複活節日出服務。

從那時起,它成為一年一度的活動和深受喜愛的社區傳統。

日出服務作為合唱表演持續了近 30 年,以神聖的音樂為特色,並與簡短的敘述相關聯,專注於耶穌基督的生平。他的聖所的環境和背景大大增強了它。

1967 年,一部更具戲劇性的作品首次亮相,描繪了耶穌的故事,穿著戲服的演員在由棉質拖車製成的臨時舞台上擺出舞台造型。

場景集中在救世主生命和使命中的重要時刻,包括他的出生、聖殿裡的男孩耶穌、耶穌教導他的追隨者、最後的晚餐、基督在客西馬尼園祈禱、三個十字架描繪了被釘十字架、復活的基督的出現,以及他的升天。

大修之後的成功

1974 年,梅薩神廟因大規模整修而關閉。次年,教會領袖宣佈為這座翻修過的寺廟舉辦一次公共開放日。由於復活節是在開放日期間舉行,總會會長團要求那年不要舉行日出崇拜。 1975 年將是其 80 年曆史上唯一的突破。

回歸後,為了容納不斷增長的人群,為期一天的日出服務發展成為複活節前的兩個晚上的活動,有數百名演員和工作人員參與,多個舞台,戲劇燈光,活體動物和一個新的配樂錄音。 Mesa Easter Pageant 於 1977 年作為晚間節目首次亮相,名為“Jesus the Christ”。據報導,當年的兩場晚會共有2萬人參加。

晚間表演如此成功,以至於選美官員將次年的表演擴大到復活節前的四個晚上。本次共有4萬人參加。

急劇增長

此後,製作量急劇增加,劇本多次改寫,新音樂出道,服裝完善,特效加入,人們來自亞利桑那州、美國和世界各地。有些年份在復活節前兩週的出席人數超過了 100,000 人。

1996 年的選美比賽標誌著另一個歷史性的里程碑。該劇在當年進行了六個晚上,其中一個晚上完全以西班牙語呈現。幾年來,西班牙原聲帶一直在進行中——首先是旁白,然後是翻譯歌詞——完成的節目受到了崇敬和讚賞。

2015 年,Valley Metro Light Rail 已在 Mesa 的 Main Street 以東完成,在寺廟場地的西北角結束。有人稱之為“寺廟站”,它使這個目的地更容易從擁有近 500 萬人口的鳳凰城都市區的其他地方到達。

許多其他市中心的梅薩建築項目大約在這個時候開始,在此期間,耶穌基督後期聖徒教會的官員宣布梅薩聖殿將於 2018 年 5 月關閉,以整修結構和周圍場地。在此期間,選美將暫停。

未來的計劃

在接下來的幾年裡,計劃將選美舞台移到寺廟場地的東北側,重新設計和地下電氣連接,這將使組裝更容易,以及景觀美化,以適應大規模的舞台和移動大演員。

The Mesa Easter Pageant resumed in 2022 and will be presented annually.

The story and spirit of the pageant continue on into the future. From a simple sunrise service to a magnificent production, it has always had the ability to draw many to gather on the sacred grounds of the Mesa Temple. And as they gather, the spirit will continue to touch their hearts and build testimonies because it is the story of the Savior and Redeemer of the world, Jesus Christ, and His message ever brings peace and hope to the souls of all those who will hear Him.

圖片庫

zh_TW繁體中文

A free outdoor musical celebration of the greatest story ever told!

This special Mesa tradition will be back this spring with a new set, new script, and new music. The beautiful Easter message remains the same. We know He lives!

No Tickets or Reservations Needed

Come early to sit on some of the 9,500+ chairs provided. Attendees are also encouraged to attend during the first week of performances to avoid the generally larger crowds closer to Easter weekend. Each night’s show begins at 8 p.m.

The outdoor area is located on the north lawn of the Mesa Arizona Temple, 101 S. LeSueur in downtown Mesa.

Attendees are encouraged to use Valley Metro Light Rail, which has a stop at Mesa Drive/Main Street, within a short walking distance of the venue.

Follow the event on social media: #mesaeasterpageant #mesaeasterpageant2022 #greateststory

MEDIA: To schedule interviews, email Jill Adair
at [email protected]

Pageant Dates:

8-9:15 p.m. each evening

April 6-9, 2022

English, American Sign Language, Spanish headphones

April 12-16, 2022

English, Spanish headphones

Celebrate Easter at the Mesa Temple!  As part of your Easter activities, come visit in person and enjoy the beautiful array of spring flowers on the Mesa Temple grounds.

FAQS

When is it?

April 6-9, 12-16

Can I come early?

Yes, you’re welcome to come early and secure a seat.

Is there a dress rehearsal I can attend?

The dress rehearsal on April 5 is open to the public. Spectators at the dress rehearsal should expect pauses in the performance and distractions from support operations (such as lighting, sound tests, and staff.) The entire pageant may not be rehearsed in full sequence and start time(s) will vary significantly.

Will there be some Spanish translation offered through headphones? Which nights? How many are available?

Yes, there are about 400 headphone sets available every night, and Spanish translation will be available on all nights.

Will there be places for us to bring our own blanket to sit on the grass?

There is very limited seating on the grass for blankets, but it is far from the stage.

Is there disability seating?

The middle concrete aisle allows for some wheelchairs to be located next to the existing rows of seating. These will be available on a first-come/first-served basis.

Can we have food on the temple grounds?

Yes, but we ask that guests be respectful of Temple grounds and not leave trash or
debris behind them. Trash receptacles will be available at various locations around the pageant site.

Can I still audition for the cast?

Please check the website at the end of summer for audition dates for the 2023 Pageant.

Is the temple open for endowment sessions during the weeks of the pageant?

Yes, but the Temple will close early during the days of the pageant. Please check the appointment website for exact times.

What time does it start?

8 p.m. each evening. The performance lasts about 75 minutes.

Where is it presented?

On the north lawn of the Mesa Arizona Temple, 101 S. LeSueur in downtown Mesa.

Is there a Spanish night?

All of the performances will be in English this year as there was not time to record the Spanish lyrics and speaking parts on a soundtrack with everything being new, but pageant leaders look forward to the Spanish translation being done for next year’s production. Translation headsets will be available for Spanish speakers (about 400 per night) for live translation of the narration.

Do I need tickets/reservations?

No, tickets/reservations are not necessary, but we recommend coming early to secure one of the 9,500 seats available. Also, be aware that typically the first week has more available seating than the second week.

Is there disability parking?

Yes. There will be parking for persons with disabilities located in the South Parking lot of the Temple, in the South East section of the lot.

Is there typically a less busy time to attend the pageant such as the dress rehearsal or mid-week?

The dress rehearsal on April 5 is open to the public. Spectators at the dress rehearsal should expect pauses in the performance and distractions from support operations (such as lighting, sound tests, and staff.) The entire pageant may not be rehearsed in full sequence and start time(s) will vary significantly.

During the scheduled nights of the pageant, traditionally, the first week has more available seating than the second week. Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday night performances are typically less crowded. Wednesdays are often heavily attended by church youth groups.

I have difficulty walking and climbing stairs (I ambulate with a cane). Will there be seating areas to accommodate those with such limitations?

There are seats near the bottoms of the ramps, but no reserved seating.

Do you have information on hotels which are close to the temple?

We do not endorse any particular hotels but there are several lodging options within walking distance of the Temple.

What nights will American Sign Language (ASL) be provided?

April 6 – 9 ASL will be provided.

Where should I park?

Parking will be available in the City’s Park and Ride lot at the northeast corner of Mesa Drive and Main Street just north of the Mesa Temple Visitors Center. We also strongly encourage travel to the Pageant via Valley Metro’s Light Rail System. Light rail park and ride locations are found at Gilbert and Main, Dobson and Main and other locations along the Light Rail route. A Light Rail stop is located just west of the Mesa Temple grounds near the corner of Main Street and Mesa Drive.  Finally, parking is available on surface streets near the temple, but we invite guests to please respect “No parking” signs and residential driveways.

Can I save seats?

We are asking everyone who attends to come early if they want a good seat. We ask
that no seats be reserved for people who are not yet in attendance. The practice of one person saving multiple seats by placing items such as blankets on the chairs is discouraged.

Is there stroller parking?

Yes, on the Southwest and Southeast corners.

Will restrooms be provided?

Yes. Portable restroom will be located on the west side of the temple grounds, near the Visitor’s Center. Only handicapped restrooms will be provided inside the Visitors’ Center.

Is there wheelchair parking?

Yes. There will be parking for persons with disabilities located in the South Parking lot of the Temple, in the South East section of the lot.

Is there a Valley Metro Light Rail stop near the Temple?

Yes, a light rail stop is located just west of the Mesa Temple grounds near the corner of Main Street and Mesa Drive. Use of the Light Rail to come to the Pageant is encouraged.

Are there logistical tips for senior citizens attending the pageant - such as nearby parking or shuttles, method of getting seating without “squatting” for hours before, etc.

Mesa’s public transit options are senior-friendly, especially the light rail. There is no reserved seating.

Area Map

History of The Mesa Easter Pageant

For more than eight decades, a gathering has occurred on grounds of the Mesa Arizona Temple in downtown Mesa during the Easter season.

Many have gathered as cast and crew, giving countless volunteer hours to sharing the life of Jesus Christ on an outdoor stage. Many more have gathered as an audience, to witness and feel the Savior’s powerful message of forgiveness, hope, and peace.

The Mesa Easter Pageant—now recognized as the largest annual outdoor Easter pageant in the world—draws tens of thousands of people during the two weeks before Easter.

Jesus The Christ

“Jesus the Christ” is not a passion play focusing on the crucifixion, rather, it is a heartfelt celebration of the life and resurrection of the Savior, and invites all to come unto Him and partake of the “good news” that is His gospel.

It’s a very different production from its humble beginnings as a sunrise service in 1938. On that Easter morning, young men and women of Mesa Maricopa Stake’s Mutual Improvement Association, hosted a statewide convention in Mesa, and the culminating event of this festive weekend was an Easter Sunrise Service on the grounds of the temple.

From that time on, it became an annual event and a beloved community tradition.

The sunrise service continued for nearly 30 years as a choral presentation, featuring sacred music that was linked with a brief narration, focusing on the life of Jesus Christ. It was enhanced immeasurably by the setting and backdrop of His Holy House.

In 1967, a more dramatic production debuted, depicting the story of Jesus with a costumed cast posed in tableaux atop a makeshift stage made of cotton trailers.

Scenes focused on important moments in the life and mission of the Savior, including His birth, boy Jesus in the temple, Jesus teaching His followers, The Last Supper, Christ praying in Gethsemane, three crosses depicting the crucifixion, the appearance of the resurrected Christ, and His ascension.

Success After Major Renovations

In 1974, the Mesa Temple closed for a major renovation. The following year, church leaders announced a public open house for the renovated temple. Because Easter fell during the dates of the open house, the First Presidency requested that the sunrise service not be held that year. 1975 would be the only break in its 80-year history.

After it returned, and to accommodate ever-growing crowds, the one-day sunrise service blossomed into a two-evening event prior to Easter that featured hundreds involved in the cast and crew, multiple stages, theatrical lighting, live animals, and a new soundtrack recording. The Mesa Easter Pageant debuted in 1977 as an evening production and was titled, “Jesus the Christ.” It was reported a total of 20,000 people attended the two evening shows that year.

So successful were the evening performances that pageant officials expanded the following year’s performances to four evenings prior to Easter. This time a total of 40,000 people attended.

Drastic Growth

From then on, the production drastically grew, the script was rewritten several times, new music debuted, costumes were perfected, special effects were added, and people came from across Arizona, the United States and the world. Some years the attendance exceeded 100,000 during the two weeks before Easter.

In 1996, the pageant marked another historic milestone. The production, which ran for six nights that year, was presented entirely in Spanish one of the evenings. The Spanish soundtrack had been a work in progress over several years—first the narration and then the lyrics were translated—and the finished program was received with reverence and appreciation.

In 2015, Valley Metro Light Rail had been completed east on Mesa’s Main Street, ending at the northwest corner of the temple grounds. Some called this the “temple stop” and it made this destination easier to reach from other parts of the Phoenix metropolitan area, which has nearly 5 million people.

Many other downtown Mesa construction projects began about this time, and in the midst of these, officials for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced the Mesa Temple would close in May 2018 for the renovation of the structure and surrounding grounds. During this time, the pageant would be suspended.

Future Plans

During the next few years, plans were implemented to move the pageant stage to the northeast side of the temple grounds with a redesign and underground electrical hookups that would make for easier assembly, as well as landscaping that would accommodate the massive stage and movement of a large cast.

The Mesa Easter Pageant is slated to resume in 2022. The story and spirit of the pageant continue on into the future. From a simple sunrise service to a magnificent production, it has always had the ability to draw many to gather on the sacred grounds of the Mesa Temple. And as they gather, the spirit will continue to touch their hearts and build testimonies because it is the story of the Savior and Redeemer of the world, Jesus Christ, and His message ever brings peace and hope to the souls of all those who will hear Him.

Image Gallery

 

en_USEnglish