來梅薩神廟和遊客中心享受一個美妙的和平之夜和聖誕魅力。觀看聖誕燈飾,在聖誕展示區感受聖誕節的精神。所有活動都向公眾開放,免費且適合家庭。

聖誕燈飾

從 11 月 25 日星期五到 12 月 31 日星期六,每天晚上 5 點到 10 點,在梅薩市中心的梅薩亞利桑那神廟北草坪上,101 S. LeSueur 燈火通明。附近設有免費停車場。

耶穌誕生展示

通過參觀梅薩神廟國際聖誕展示來慶祝最初的聖誕節故事 - 來自世界各地的 100 多個耶穌誕生。我們邀請您在見證描繪基督誕生的鼓舞人心的藝術作品時探索聖誕節故事。從 11 月 25 日到 12 月 31 日,每天晚上 5 點到 10 點開放,地點為梅薩神廟遊客中心,地址為 455 E. Main St.(位於 LeSueur 和 Main Street 拐角處的寺廟場地以西)。

紀念我 - 基督壁畫

快來梅薩神廟遊客中心觀賞紀念基督生平和作品的壁畫。在這次旅行中,您將看到從地板到天花板的壁畫,提醒我們救主提供的神奇禮物。遊客中心在整個假期期間的上午 10 點至晚上 10 點對公眾開放。提供導遊和自助遊。

亞利桑那州捐贈機

贈送機器將於 11 月 18 日至次年 1 月返回吉爾伯特市中心的水塔廣場。 1 並於 11 月 22 日至 1 月前往格倫代爾墨菲公園的新地點。 7. 旅行捐贈機器還將在圖森、弗拉格斯塔夫和吉拉谷停留!什麼是贈送機?這台自動售貨機裝滿了選定的亞利桑那州慈善機構所需的服務項目,收集到的 100% 資金直接用於捐贈項目和接收慈善機構。那些無法親自參觀機器的人仍然可以通過在線捐贈參與 LightTheWorld.org/give

營業時間和停車

聖誕燈時間: 每天黃昏至晚上 10:00

遊客中心放假時間: 每天上午 10:00 至晚上 10:00

聖誕節誕生時間: 每天下午 5:00 至晚上 10:00

獲取路線

你喜歡你的經歷嗎?

常見問題

什麼時候?

從 11 月 25 日星期五至 12 月 31 日星期六,每晚 5 點至 10 點都亮著燈。客人還可以在白天享受梅薩神廟的場地,並在節假日期間參觀街對面的遊客中心, 上午 10 點至晚上 10 點,在梅薩神廟遊客中心內舉辦了來自世界各地的國際土著人的獨特展示。該活動是免費的,在 11 月 25 日至 12 月的 Mesa Temple 聖誕燈活動期間下午 5 點至晚上 10 點開放。 31.

它在哪裡?

梅薩神廟北草坪上,101 S. LeSueur,位於梅薩市中心 LeSueur 和 Hobson 之間的主街上。

我可以在哪裡停車?

梅薩大道和主街東北角的梅薩神廟遊客中心以北的城市 Park and Ride 停車場可能提供免費停車服務。
遊客還鼓勵遊客通過 Valley Metro 的輕軌系統前往寺廟場地。輕軌公園和乘車點位於吉爾伯特和美因、多布森和美因以及輕軌沿線的其他位置。輕軌站位於梅薩神廟的西邊。

時間表:RAIL Valley Metro Rail |谷地鐵

請注意:在 LeSueur 和 Main Street 的拐角處,從車站到燈光活動,有一條帶燈的人行橫道。為了您的安全,請使用人行橫道。

寺廟附近有Valley Metro輕軌站嗎?

是的,輕軌站位於梅薩神廟場地的西邊,靠近主街和梅薩大道的拐角處。從那裡,步行不遠便可抵達燈光秀。週五和周六晚上,從 Gilbert Road 到 Mesa 的 Sycamore 的 Main Street 將不收費。

欲了解更多信息,請查看: 鐵路谷地鐵 |谷地鐵

請注意:在 LeSueur 和 Main Street 的拐角處,從火車站到照明活動有一條帶燈的人行橫道。為了您的安全,請使用人行橫道。

在寺廟的聖誕燈飾活動期間,梅薩市中心還有什麼活動?

國際聖誕展示, 聖誕節期間在遊客中心舉行的國際耶穌誕生展覽 – MesaTemple.org.從下午 5 點到 10 點,在梅薩神廟遊客中心內享受來自世界各地的 100 多個耶穌誕生,455 E. Main St. 免費入場。

梅薩市和當地企業在市中心的輕軌路線上都有活動,包括音樂、供應商、美食、溜冰場、假日活動等等!

傑克弗羅斯特的食品卡車森林, 歡樂大街.週五和周六下午 5 點至晚上 9 點,在位於東大街 526 號先鋒公園的 Jack Frost 食品卡車森林開始(或結束)您的旅程

MAC的假期活動, www.mesaartscenter.com.國際知名的 MesaArts 中心在整個假期期間都會舉辦各種表演。日曆在這裡: 日曆 - 快樂大街。

梅薩聖誕老人快車, 主頁 |梅桑塔特快車.從 10 月 9 日至 10 日和 10 月 16 日至 17 日的下午 6 點至 10 點,兒童和成人將在一輛特殊的輕軌車上唱歌,享用餅乾,最重要的是,與聖誕老人見面!孩子們被邀請穿上睡衣,在這個對兒童友好的節日傳統中享受這個季節。免費,但騎手需要門票。

梅薩聖誕市場, www.mesachristmasmarket.com.從 10 月 9 日至 10 日和 10 月 16 日至 17 日的下午 5 點至晚上 9 點,戶外節日快閃店的當地供應商提供食品、手工藝品和現場表演。

歡樂大街, 歡樂大街.從 11 月 24 日星期五下午 5 點至 10 點開始,每天晚上享受市中心的許多假日活動。這個有趣的家庭活動包括:

冬季仙境溜冰場, 歡樂大街.冬季仙境溜冰場位於梅薩市中心的新廣場,是在星空下滑冰的同時享受令人驚嘆的冬季天氣的絕佳方式。

梅薩的聖誕樹, 歡樂大街.這棵 40 英尺高的樹是梅薩的官方聖誕樹。在 Main Street 以北的 Macdonald 看看它,體驗這個季節的魔力……並在那裡拍幾張照片。

拜訪聖誕老人, 歡樂大街.週五和周六晚上與聖誕老人免費參觀。帶上你的手機或相機拍照。

梅薩的燭台, 歡樂大街. Mesa 的官方燭台是一個 12 英尺高的時尚現代燭台。它將設置在北麥克唐納,並在光明節的每個晚上點亮。

有殘疾人停車位嗎?

在霍布森北部寺廟場地以東的地段有特殊需要的停車位;停車服務員將協助遊客。
寺廟場地的南停車場設有殘疾人停車位,但這些停車位僅適用於寺廟顧客,直到週二至週六晚上 7:30 之後。他們週日至週一全天開放。

如果我坐公共汽車來怎麼辦?

巴士上下車地點位於寺廟場地東側的霍布森。

某些夜晚是否比其他夜晚更擁擠?

週末以及週一和周三通常更擁擠。週二和周四是參觀的最佳晚上。晚上 8 點之後的任何一個晚上,出勤率通常較低。

它是免費的嗎?

是的,參加梅薩神廟場地的燈光活動或街對面遊客中心的耶穌誕生展示是免費的。

有人可以來嗎?

絕對地!歡迎大家參加。

梅薩神廟有遊客中心嗎?

是的,雖然寺廟內的參觀是為耶穌基督後期聖徒教會的成員保留的,但梅薩寺廟遊客中心就位於街對面的西北角,向所有人開放!了解梅薩多元文化的歷史,享受兒童和青少年的互動區域,查找當地服務項目列表,查看梅薩神廟的 3D 模型,觀看與福音相關的視頻,訪問家族史研究資源等等! 11 月 25 日至 1 月節假日上午 10 點至晚上 10 點開放。 1.

燈光活動是否可容納嬰兒車和輪椅?

是的,寬闊的道路是水泥和礫石,應該可以容納嬰兒車和輪椅。

如果我有問題或丟失物品,誰可以幫助我,參加活動的人?

整個晚上都會有房東在場地上幫助遊客——如果你尋找那些戴著紅色徽章的人,你就會找到他們。如果您丟失了物品或與聚會中的某個人走散,他們也可以提供幫助。

我在哪裡可以找到走失的孩子或其他家庭成員?

如果您與您的團隊中的某人分開,請在位於寺廟北側台階以北的方形綠草“安全區”區域找到他們(請參閱地圖)。

會提供洗手間嗎?

洗手間拖車將位於 LeSueur 上,在寺廟和遊客中心之間。

梅薩神廟還有其他聖誕活動嗎?

梅薩神廟遊客中心 (455 E. Main) 舉辦了來自世界各地的獨特展示,就在寺廟場地北草坪的西邊。該活動是免費的,在 11 月 25 日至 12 月的 Mesa Temple 聖誕燈活動期間下午 5 點至 10 點開放。 31.

梅薩神廟聖誕燈的歷史

“我們的使命是謙虛和有價值地創造神聖的聖誕展示、音樂和燈光,以反映聖殿的美麗和完整性,邀請所有人感受基督的精神。”
梅薩神廟聖誕燈任務

四十多年來,梅薩亞利桑那神廟花園的照明一直是許多前來享受燈光並感受這個神聖地方的精神的人的節日傳統。

隨著時間的推移,最初只是一個小型燈光展示,現已發展成為西南地區最大的聖誕燈光活動之一,最近在節日期間吸引了超過 150 萬人參加。

開始

該活動始於 1979 年,當時 Mesa Temple 主席 L. Harold Wright 設想照亮寺廟場地可能是“給社區的禮物”。

在第一季,展示包括 5,000 盞透明和藍色的燈,以遊客中心屋頂和提供電源插座的反射池為中心。

顯示多年來增長

15 年來,Murray 和 Nordessa Coates 被分配了開發、設計和指導照明慶典的任務,並幫助它每年成長。

 

燈光覆蓋了樹木和灌木,甚至是高大的棕櫚樹。早期,人們爬上棕櫚樹來放燈,後來用“櫻桃採摘機”來到達高達 65 英尺的樹上。

 

1985 年,當寺廟花園安裝了新的自動噴水滅火系統時,增加了地下電線以提供更多插座,以便可以在整個花園中放置燈光。

被稱為“必看盛會”的活動

1984 年和 1985 年再次出現了一個現場耶穌誕生場景——駱駝、綿羊和其他動物——是演示的一部分。同年,美國廣播公司的電視早間節目《早安美國》稱亞利桑那聖殿花園的照明是其中之一美國三大“必看”節日燈飾盛會。

慶祝活動中加入了音樂,各種當地音樂家開始舉辦夜間音樂會。這些代表各種文化和音樂風格的團體包括家庭、學校和教堂合唱團,以及來自亞利桑那州各地的私人樂團。

 

到 1990 年代初,超過 300,000 盞燈裝飾著寺廟場地,從高大的棕櫚樹上垂下,緊緊地纏繞著懸掛在樹枝上的樹幹,簇擁成花束狀的排列,覆蓋著花壇和矮牆。

每天晚上,滿載來自山谷周圍的遊客的包車聚集在寺廟旁觀看展示。即使寺廟不在指定的路線上,一些巴士司機也會調整路線,以便他們的乘客可以一睹壯觀的景象。

聖經小插曲講述基督誕生的故事

場地上有各種旨在講述基督誕生故事的展品,包括一個大型戶外托兒所,位於一顆擁有近 15,000 盞燈的星星下、一個牧羊人的田地、瑪麗和約瑟夫小雕像、先知以賽亞,以及三位發光的智者和他們的駱駝。

在 2000 年代初期,Mesa 的 Julie McFarland 和她的丈夫 Kirt 一起擔任燈光總監,當時他們受到了 2000 年 12 月號的 The Ensign 封面的啟發,該封面以一幅畫作“通往伯利恆的道路”為特色。通過約瑟夫布里奇。

 

“我們想在場地上添加一些更精神的東西,”朱莉說。 “這幅畫似乎捕捉到了那一刻的寧靜。”

這些小雕像是亞利桑那州薩福德的藝術家和雕塑家 Rennie Godfrey 的作品,並於 2005 年在寺廟場地首次亮相。Rennie 說她花了很多時間研究並且對細節一絲不苟:她用真正的綿羊皮覆蓋綿羊,驢的尾巴由馬毛製成,她用針插入睫毛和頭髮,用天然產品手工染色織物並固定來自中東國家的物品。

 

“我盡量做到自然和真實,”她說。 “這方面的工作對我來說意義重大,我希望能夠做出一些觸動人心的事情,並將他人帶到基督面前;這就是這些圖像的全部意義所在。”

 

2015 年,在小插圖附近添加了特殊的 QR 碼,以便遊客可以使用手機訪問所描繪場景的其他視頻和信息。

志願者使之成為現實

數以千計的幕後志願者在一年中的這個忙碌時刻奉獻自己,並為參與為許多人點亮假期的活動而感到高興,因此可以進行奢華的燈光慶祝活動。

 

其中一些志願者早在春天就開始工作,那時他們開始盤點燈。大多數人在 11 月狂熱地工作,將寺廟場地改造成令人嘆為觀止的展示。

 

“這是一個值得一看的景象!”斯泰西·法爾談到感恩節後數週內所付出的時間和精力,當燈正式打開時。 Stacey 10 年前開始擔任燈光活動的助理導演,並於 2015 年成為導演。她和她一起
丈夫加里·法爾(Gary Farr)負責監督實現這一切的眾多委員會。

 

這個臨時照明團隊來自鳳凰城都會區的 63 個股份。這些志願者中有許多是 18 至 31 歲的年輕單身成年人,他們經常在周一晚上出現在倉庫裡,那裡全年儲存著數十萬盞燈,以設計和組裝物品作為展示的一部分。

 

法爾修女回憶了這些年來無數志願者中的一些人的特殊回憶。

 

“我個人最喜歡的是那些會來一起工作以完成分配的區域的家庭。或者帶孩子來的單親父母,這樣他們就會有一個美好的經歷。喜歡待在聖殿場地上的寡婦發現盡其所能提供服務。那個從監獄釋放並想要回饋的人,所以他和他的假釋官一起工作,“她說。

 

“有些人是和他們的家人和朋友一起來的,”她補充道。 “有些人只是在場地上行走,詢問他們如何提供幫助。”

遊客感受特殊的精神

“太奇妙了!”猶他州的 Liesl Cardon 在 2017 年告訴《教會新聞》。她是第一次參觀燈光展。 “我特別喜歡池中寺廟的倒影。”

 

她和她的同伴,德克薩斯州的 CJ Passantino,他們都是 BYU 的學生,在一個巨大的白色耶穌誕生前停下來,它似乎漂浮在寺廟北側的一個小反射池中。

 

“我在想水是多麼平靜,”她說。 “這讓我想起了我們從救主那裡得到的平安禮物——通過他的贖罪和祈禱。這是一個安靜的地方。”

 

來自巴基斯坦但住在亞利桑那州的 Lubna Dent 於 2016 年來訪。

 

“我進入的那一刻,我感到敬畏,”她告訴教會新聞。 “人們發自內心地努力傳播基督的光和他的希望信息。令人驚訝的是,他們是如何出於愛和服務做到這一點的。”

 

2017 年,梅薩的萊西·艾姆斯站在大型耶穌誕生場景附近,向她 3 歲的男孩解釋所描繪的那一刻的重要性。

 

“我們試圖專注於聖誕節的真正意義,而不是大肆宣傳禮物,這就是基督,”萊西說。 “當你看著聖誕燈飾時,寺廟場地上總有一種特殊的精神,這是你在其他任何地方都無法獲得的。”

打破年度傳統

2018 年 5 月,梅薩寺因大廈及周邊場地的重大改造工程而關閉。照明活動暫停到 2021 年,當時寺廟於 12 月奉獻,在公共開放日和奉獻週末期間,在寺廟場地上放置的唯一大型聖誕裝飾品是白色的聖誕裝飾品。

聖誕燈的“禮物”2022年回歸

2022年,聖殿北側燈火輝煌。

 

從感恩節後的第二天到新年前夜,遊客將在每晚 5 點至 10 點之間擠滿寺廟場地的寬闊通道

 

除了寺廟場地的照明活動外,今年還將返回一個大型的國際耶穌誕生展覽——展示來自世界各地的一百多個國家和文化的耶穌誕生。在整個聖誕節期間,他們將在位於東大街 455 號的梅薩神廟遊客中心的多功能室(就在寺廟場地的西北角對面)舉辦。

參與者和社區中的人都對燈在中斷五年後的回歸感到興奮。

 

斯泰西說:“神聖、美麗、目標、和平,以及對我們許多人來說,在非常困難時期的慰藉和安慰,這就是為什麼這是給前來參觀的人們如此重要的禮物。”

 

對於那些前來目睹這數十萬盞色彩鮮豔的閃閃發光燈的驚人之美的人來說,他們會想起聖誕節的真正原因:耶穌基督是世界的救主和光。

即將舉行的活動

梅薩神廟聖誕燈和聖誕展示
101 南勒蘇爾
檯面, AZ 85204 美國
, 2022-11-25 05:00 下午
研究方法論 – KONIUSZY
東大街455號
檯面, AZ 85203 美國
, 2022-12-07 07:00 下午
研究方法論 – KONIUSZY
東大街455號
檯面, AZ 85203 美國
, 2022-12-08 10:30 上午

NOTE: Mesa Temple Christmas Lights ended Dec. 31, 2022. Please check back on the website for upcoming events. Thank you!

Come and enjoy a wonderful night of peace and Christmas enchantment at the Mesa Temple & Visitors’ Center. See the Christmas lights, and feel the spirit of Christmas at the Nativity Displays. All activities are open to the public, free of charge, and family-friendly.

Christmas Lights

The lights are on every night, 5-10 p.m., from Friday, Nov. 25, through Saturday, Dec. 31, on the north lawn of the Mesa Arizona Temple, 101 S. LeSueur, in downtown Mesa. Free parking is available nearby.

Nativity Displays

Celebrate the original Christmas story by visiting the Mesa Temple International Nativity Display — with more than 100 nativities from around the world. We invite you to explore the Christmas story as you witness inspiring works of art depicting Christ’s birth. Open 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. each evening from Nov. 25 to Dec. 31 at the Mesa Temple Visitors’ Center, 455 E. Main St. (just west of the temple grounds on the corner of LeSueur and Main Street).

In Remembrance Of Me - Murals Of Christ

Come and see the murals that commemorate the life and works of Christ at the Mesa Temple Visitors’ Center. On this tour, you will see floor-to-ceiling murals reminding us of the miraculous gifts the Savior offers. The Visitors’ Center is open to the public from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. throughout the holiday season. Guided and self-guided tours are available.

Arizona Giving Machines

Giving Machines return to Water Tower Plaza in downtown Gilbert Nov. 18-Jan. 1 and to a new location at Murphy Park in Glendale Nov. 22-Jan. 7.  A traveling Giving Machine will also make stops in Tucson, Flagstaff and the Gila Valley! What is a Giving Machine? This vending machine is full of service items needed by selected Arizona charities and 100% of the funds collected go directly to the donated items and the receiving charities. Those unable to visit a machine in person can still participate by making an online donation at LightTheWorld.org/give

Hours and parking

Christmas Light Hours: Dusk to 10:00 p.m. Daily

Visitors’ Center Holiday Hours: 10:00 a.m.  to 10:00 p.m. Daily

Christmas Nativity Hours: 5:00 p.m.  to 10:00 p.m. Daily

Get Directions

Did You Enjoy Your Experience?

Frequently Asked Questions

When is it?

The lights are on every night, 5-10 p.m., from Friday, Nov. 25, though Saturday, Dec. 31. Guests are also invited to enjoy the Mesa Temple grounds during the day and the Visitors’ Center across the street during holiday hours, 10 a.m.-10 p.m.A unique display of international nativities from around the world is hosted inside the Mesa Temple Visitors’ Center. The event is free and open 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. during the Mesa Temple Christmas Lights event, Nov. 25-Dec. 31.

Where is it?

On the north lawn of the Mesa Temple, 101 S. LeSueur, on Main Street between LeSueur and Hobson, in downtown Mesa.

Where can I park?

Free parking may be available in the city’s Park and Ride lot at the northeast corner of Mesa Drive and Main Street just north of the Mesa Temple Visitors Center.
Visitors also encouraged to travel to the temple grounds via Valley Metro’s Light Rail System. Light rail park and ride locations are found at Gilbert and Main, Dobson and Main and other locations along the Light Rail route. A Light Rail stop is located just west of the Mesa Temple.

Schedule: RAIL Valley Metro Rail | Valley Metro

PLEASE NOTE: There is a lighted crosswalk at the corner of LeSueur and Main Street from the stop to the lighting event. Please use the crosswalk for your safety.

Is there a Valley Metro Light Rail stop near the temple?

Yes, a light rail stop is located just west of the Mesa Temple grounds near the corner of Main Street and Mesa Drive. From there, it is a short walk to the lighting event. On Friday and Saturday evenings there will be no charge on Main Street from Gilbert Road to Sycamore in Mesa.

For more info, please check: RAIL Valley Metro Rail | Valley Metro

PLEASE NOTE: There is a lighted crosswalk at the corner of LeSueur and Main Street from the rail stop to the lighting event. Please use the crosswalk for your safety.

What else is going on in downtown Mesa during the Christmas lights event at the temple?

International Nativity Display, International Nativity Display at Visitors’ Center during Christmastime – MesaTemple.org. Enjoy more than 100 nativities from around the world from 5-10 p.m. inside the Mesa Temple Visitors’ Center, 455 E. Main St. Free admission.

The city of Mesa and local businesses have events all along the light rail route downtown, including music, vendors, food, an ice-skating rink, holiday activities, and more!

Jack Frost’s Food Truck Forest, Merry Main Street. Start (or end) your journey along Merry Main Street at Jack Frost’s Food Truck Forest at Pioneer Park, 526 E. Main St., on Fridays and Saturdays from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m.

Holiday Happenings at the MAC, www.mesaartscenter.com. The internationally acclaimed MesaArts Center comes alive with shows throughout the holidays. Calendar here: Calendar – Merry Main Street.

Mesa Santa Express, HOME | mesasantaexpress. From 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. on Oct. 9-10 and Oct.16-17, in a special Light Rail car, children and adults will sing songs, enjoy cookies, and, best of all, meet Santa! Children are invited to wear pajamas and enjoy the season in this child-friendly and festive tradition. Free, but riders need a ticket.

Mesa Christmas Market, www.mesachristmasmarket.com. From 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. on Oct. 9-10and Oct. 16-17, local vendors in outdoor festive pop-up shops feature food, handcrafted items, and live performances.

Merry Main Street, Merry Main Street. Enjoy many holiday activities downtown each evening, kicking off 5-10 p.m. Friday, Nov. 24. This fun, family event includes:

Winter Wonderland Ice Rink, Merry Main Street. Located at the new Plaza at Mesa City Center, the Winter Wonderland Ice Rink is a great way to enjoy the amazing winter weather while skating under the stars.

Mesa’s Christmas Tree, Merry Main Street. This 40-foot-tall tree is Mesa’s official Christmas tree. Check it out on Macdonald north of Main Street and experience the magic of the season…and take a few photos while you’re there.

Visits With Santa, Merry Main Street. FREE visits with Santa Friday and Saturday evenings. Bring your cell phone or camera for pictures.

Mesa’s Menorah, Merry Main Street. Mesa’s official Menorah is a sleek, modern 12-foot-tall candelabrum. It will be set on North Macdonald and lit each night of Hanukkah.

Is there disability parking?

Special needs parking in the lot directly east of the north temple grounds on Hobson; parking attendants will assist visitors.
There are handicapped parking spaces in the south parking lot of the temple grounds, but these will only be available for temple patrons until after 7:30 p.m. Tuesdays-Saturdays. They are open all day Sunday-Monday.

What if I come by bus?

A spot for drop off and pick up from busses is located on Hobson, on the east side of the temple grounds.

Are certain nights more crowded than others?

The weekends are typically more crowded, as well as Mondays and Wednesdays. Tuesdays and Thursdays are the best evenings to visit. Any night after 8 p.m., attendance is usually lighter.

Is it free?

Yes, there is no charge to attend the lighting event on the Mesa Temple grounds or for the nativity display in the Visitors’ Center across the street.

Can anyone come?

Absolutely! Everybody is welcome to attend.

Does the Mesa Temple have a Visitors’ Center?

Yes, while visits inside the temple are reserved for members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, the Mesa Temple Visitors’ Center is located directly across the street on the northwest corner and is open to all! Learn about Mesa’s culturally diverse history, enjoy interactive areas for children and teens, find a listing of local service projects, see a 3D model of the Mesa Temple, watch a gospel-related video, access family history research resources, and much more! Open during the holidays 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. Nov. 25-Jan. 1.

Does the lighting event accommodate strollers and wheelchairs?

Yes, the wide pathways are cement and gravel and should accommodate strollers and wheelchairs.

Who can help me if I have questions or lost items, people at the event?

There will be hosts on the grounds throughout the evening to help assist visitors – you’ll find them if you look for those wearing red badges. They can also help if you have a lost item or become separated from someone in your party.

Where do I find lost children or other family members?

If you’re separated from someone in your party, please find them in the square green grass “Safe Zone” area located just north of the steps on the north side of the temple (please see map).

Will restrooms be provided?

Restroom trailers will be located on LeSueur, between the temple and the Visitors’ Center.

Are there any other Christmas activities at the Mesa Temple?

A unique display of international nativities from around the world is hosted inside the Mesa Temple Visitors’ Center, 455 E. Main, just west of the north lawn of the temple grounds. The event is free and opens 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. during the Mesa Temple Christmas Lights event, Nov. 25-Dec. 31.

The History of Christmas Lights at the Mesa Temple

“Our mission is to humbly and worthily create sacred Christmas displays, music and lights, which reflects the beauty and integrity of the Temple, inviting all people to feel Christ’s spirit.”
Mesa Temple Christmas Lights Mission

For more than four decades, the lighting of the Mesa Arizona Temple gardens has been a holiday tradition for many who come to enjoy the lights and feel the spirit of this sacred place.

Over time, what had started out as a small display of lights, has grown to become one of the largest Christmas lighting events in the Southwest, recently drawing more than 1.5 million people during the holiday season.

The Beginning

The event started in 1979 when Mesa Temple President L. Harold Wright envisioned that lighting the temple grounds could be a “gift to the community.”

In its first season, the display included 5,000 clear and blue lights, centered around the visitors’ center roof and the reflecting pool where electrical outlets were available.

Display Grows Over The Years

For 15 years, Murray and Nordessa Coates were assigned the task of developing, designing, and directing the lighting celebration and helped it grow each year.

 

Lights covered trees and shrubs and even tall palm trees. Early on, men climbed the palms to place the lights, and “cherry pickers” were later used to reach the trees that were as high as 65 feet.

 

In 1985, when a new sprinkler system was installed in the temple gardens, underground electrical lines were added to make more outlets available so lights could be placed throughout the gardens.

Event Called a "Must-See Extravaganza"

A live nativity scene –with a camel, sheep, and other animals – was part of the presentation in 1984 and again in 1985. That same year, ABC’s television morning show, Good Morning America, called the lighting of the Arizona Temple gardens one of three “must-see” holiday lighting extravaganzas in the United States.

Music was added to the celebration and various local musicians began giving nightly concerts. The groups, representing a variety of cultures and musical styles, include families, school and church choirs, and private ensembles from all over Arizona.

 

By the early 1990s, more than 300,000 lights adorned the temple grounds, dangling from tall palm trees, wrapped tightly around tree trunks hanging from branches, clustered in bouquet-like arrangements covering flower beds and low walls.

Chartered buses filled with visitors from around the Valley congregated at the temple to witness the display each night. Even when the temple wasn’t on the specified route, some bus drivers were known to adjust their course, just so their passengers could get a glimpse of the spectacular sight.

Biblical Vignettes Tell Story of Christ’s Birth

On the grounds are a variety of displays designed to tell the story of Christ’s birth, including a large outdoor crèche underneath a star with nearly 15,000 lights, a shepherd’s field, Mary and Joseph figurines, the prophet Isaiah, and three lighted wise men with their camels.

In the early 2000s, Julie McFarland of Mesa, who, with her husband, Kirt, were serving as lighting directors when they were inspired by the cover of the December 2000 issue of The Ensign which featured a painting, “The Road to Bethlehem,” by Joseph Brickey.

 

“We wanted to add something more spiritual to the grounds,” said Julie. “This painting seemed to capture the quiet nature of that moment.”

The figurines are the work of artist and sculptor Rennie Godfrey of Safford, Ariz., and debuted on the temple grounds in 2005. Rennie said she spends much time researching and is meticulous in the details: she covers the sheep with real sheep pelts, the donkey’s tail is made of horse’s hair, she inserts eyelashes and hair with a needle, hand-dyes fabrics with natural products and secures items from Middle Eastern countries.

 

“I try to be as natural and authentic as I can,” she said. “Working on this has a lot of meaning for me and I hope to be able make something that will touch hearts and bring others to Christ; that’s what these images are all about.”

 

In 2015, special QR codes near the vignettes were added so visitors could use their cell phones to access additional videos and information for these scenes depicted.

Volunteers Make it Happen

The extravagant celebration of lights is possible because of the thousands who volunteer behind the scenes who give of themselves during this busy time of year and find joy in being a part of something that brightens the holidays for so many.

 

Some of these volunteers start working as early as the spring, when they begin inventory on the lights. The majority work feverishly during November transforming the temple grounds into a breathtaking display.

 

“It’s a sight to behold!” said Stacey Farr of the amount of time and effort that is given during the weeks leading up to the day after Thanksgiving, when the lights are officially turned on. Stacey began serving as an assistant director of the lighting event 10 years ago and became director in 2015. She, along with her
husband, Gary Farr, oversee the many committees that make it all happen.

 

This ad hoc lighting crew comes from 63 stakes in the Phoenix metro area. Many of these volunteers are young single adults, aged 18-31, who regularly show up on Monday nights to the warehouse where the hundreds of thousands of lights are stored year-round to design and assemble items to be a part of the display.

 

Sister Farr recalled special memories of some of the countless volunteers over the years.

 

“My personal favorites were the families that would come and work together to accomplish the area assigned. Or the single parent who brought their children so they would have a wonderful experience. The widow who loved being on the temple grounds found such comfort serving the way they could. The one who was released from jail and wanted to give back so he and his parole officer worked together,” she said.

 

“Some come with their family and friends,” she added. “Some just walking on the grounds ask how they can help.”

Visitors Feel Special Spirit

“It’s amazing!” Liesl Cardon of Utah told the Church News in 2017. She was visiting the lights display for the first time. “I especially love the reflection of the temple in the pool.”

 

She paused with her companion, CJ Passantino of Texas, both of whom are BYU students, in front of a large white nativity that appears to float in a small reflecting pond on the north side of the temple.

 

“I was thinking of how calm the water is,” she said. “It reminds me of the gift of peace that we get from our Savior—through His Atonement, and through prayer. It’s a peaceful place.”

 

Lubna Dent, who is from Pakistan but was living in Arizona, visited in 2016.

 

“The moment I entered I was in awe,” she told the Church News. “The people from their hearts are trying to spread the light of Christ and His message of hope. It amazing how they do it out of love and service.”

 

Lacey Ames of Mesa stood near the large nativity scene in 2017, explaining to her 3-year-old boy about the significance of the moment portrayed.

 

“Instead of the hype of presents we’re trying to focus on the true meaning of Christmas, which is Christ,” Lacey said. “There is always a special spirit on the temple grounds when you’re looking at the Christmas lights that you can’t get anywhere else.”

A Break in the Annual Tradition

In May 2018, the Mesa Temple closed for a major renovation construction project of the edifice and surrounding grounds. The lighting event was suspended through 2021, when the temple was dedicated in December and a large, white nativity was the only Christmas decorations placed on temple grounds during the public open house and dedication weekend.

The “Gift” of Christmas Lights Return in 2022

In 2022, the lights will return in full glory on the north side of the temple.

 

From the day after Thanksgiving through New Year’s Eve, visitors will fill wide pathways of the temple grounds nightly 5-10 p.m.

 

In addition to the lighting event on temple grounds, a large, international nativity display — featuring more than a hundred nativities from nations and cultures from all over the world — will also return this year. They will be hosted in the multipurpose room at the Mesa Temple Visitors’ Center, 455 E. Main Street, (just across from the northwest corner of the temple grounds) throughout the Christmas season.

Those involved and those in the community are excited for the lights to return after a five-year hiatus.

 

“The sacredness, the beauty, the purpose, the peace, and, for many of us, the solace and comfort during very difficult times is why this is such an important gift to bring the people who come to visit,” Stacey said.

 

And for those who come to witness the stunning beauty of these hundreds of thousands of sparkling lights in vibrantly colored display will be reminded of the true reason for the Christmas season: Jesus Christ is the Savior and Light of the World.